Reviews of Smiles from Schooldays

Clever words to make you smile
Some clever words to make you smile, have hidden in John’s brain a while. But now his knowledge is revealed, a publisher has made it real. Encouraged by his son and grandson, with hope for satisfaction handsome. All smilers celebrates in chorus, the quiz potential is enormous.
A review written by Ann Coomber on 03 Oct 2017
Funny and engaging
"Smiles from Schooldays" is a funny, engaging and addictive read. Several times this week, I've started reading some of the rhyming couplets about one subject and found myself reading on, ending up in a totally different one. For anyone with any experience of school (and that's everyone), this book will jog memories and raise a smile. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading it and would recommend "Smiles from Schooldays" to anyone with a sense of curiosity and fun.
A review written by Mr Ian Hardiman, Teacher of Physics and Engineering on 13 Sep 2017
Delightful read
Who is your favourite genius in history? Albert Einstein? Who is your favourite painter? Caravaggio? No matter who is your favourite historical character, John Hobson has provided a delightful couplet on most of them. A nice way to spend your time, and most important of all, to raise a big guaranteed smile. Most enjoyable!!
A review written by Elena Parlagreco, Nichelino (Torino) on 18 Aug 2017
A light hearted read
“I particularly enjoyed the section on history. I enjoyed quite a number of the couplets, but I suppose my favourite was the one about Wellington on page 21.”
A review written by Rev. Barton Starr, Pensacola, FL on 18 Aug 2017
Light hearted and intelligently written
Great little light hearted funny book to put on the coffee table and flick through with the morning coffee. Intelligently written with charming simple illustrations, this collection of rhyming couplets will be sure to bring smiles and chuckles.
A review written by Ben Clegg on 28 Jul 2017
Makes you smile
This book does what it says on the can: it makes you smile. It comprises rhyming couplets about numerous subjects featuring factual and post factual characters and situations. Here for example from the "Drama" section is a clever summary of La Boheme in eight lines: Mimi wasn't married/ but we think she'd like to be/ when they crawl about in the dark/ searching for her key. Her hands are rather chilly/ and she has a nasty cough/ and at the end of La Boheme/ we know the wedding's off. File under comedy and place it on the shelf next to the loo.
A review written by Colin P on 28 Jul 2017
Insightful and thought-provoking
A well-rounded education requires knowledge of a multitude of subjects. The reader who encounters this book will either smile at remembered lessons or be amazed there is so much he or she missed on the way through. In either case, there is cause for delight here because the work is written in rhyme, often from a tongue-in-cheek perspective on the subjects covered, and always with the use of language that is insightful, thought-provoking, and playful. Who knew you could squeeze so much into four lines of verse? The thought, wit, cheerfulness, and optimism of the author as I knew him is faithfully reflected in his work, and all of it is infectious if you allow yourself to be exposed to it.
A review written by Rev Russell L Small on 28 Jul 2017
Ideal coffee table book!
As an ex-schoolmaster, I can heartily recommend “SMILES FORM SCHOOLDAYS” by JOHN HOBSON. He has collected many of the imaginative fancies of young people and added them with witty rhymes and an artistic pen. He has culled a wide range of sources plus a variety of subjects. I would say it is an ideal coffee table book, fascinating to dip into and guaranteed to tickle the palette of anyone remotely connected with teaching and education in general.
A review written by Gordon Price on 11 Jul 2017
A master of his craft!
The school curriculum like you never heard it before! From over 50 years, attending and working in schools, John Hobson has produced this wonderful compendium of snappy, rhyming couplets that, pretty much, tells you everything your teachers forgot to mention! From PE to psychology, Art to History, a host of well known names get a mention, revealing, in a succession of pithy poems, some hilarious, and hitherto unknown, “facts”, often about the travails of the long-suffering women behind these great men. The book is illustrated by simple but effective drawings including an excellent “shade” picture of Einstein. This book is intended as a bit of fun and is bound to raise a smile with these clever ditties. It’s amazing what can be packed into just four short lines and John is a master of his craft.
A review written by Graham Sloper on 27 Jun 2017